Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Matsu Japanese Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Huntington Beach

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Matsu Japanese Restaurant and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Mayra about 20 hours ago

Dynamite Shrimp

Authentic delicious fresh sushi & Japanese cuisine. Best in OC! The service is exceptional.

Drkittyskinner 10 days ago

Tuna Tataki Sashimi

Everything here is delicious....especially love the sashimi and the japanese ceviche. Unagi is yummy as well. Really can't go wrong at Matsu. The teriyaki and tempura dinners are fabulous and who hasn't had a BOAT before!!?? Amazing. Love that this restaurant has not changed its vibe in decades....doesn't need too! The experience speaks for itself and is a testament as to why they are still thriving despite the current COVID limitations! Dedicated following! :)

Glenda 11 days ago

C. Sesame Chicken and Shirimp and Vegetable Tempura

Along with the love boat you have to get extra sesame chicken to take home.... Trust me you will wake up craving it again!!!! I love this place soooooo much! You will never have a bad experience and they take a family photo 👍❤️ I love that! Thanks Matsu! Glenda Rainone

Martte 12 days ago

Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura

As always, THE BEST!! I've been a fan of Matsu since my college days and it has remained as great since my first visit. I know that I don't have to worry about the quality of ingredients or service, it's always consistently top notch. LOVE your food and service!!

Lisa 18 days ago

Yellowtail

Well actually had much more than Yellowtail, but Matsu never disappoints. I treated myself and everything was scrumptious.

Iakona88 23 days ago

Assorted Sashimi

Great service by waitresses and waiters .. friendly smiles and attitudes. Miso soup was very hot temperature wise which I like .. I want my hot food hot and cold food Room temperature like they are supposed to be .. not warm and not cold like right out of the fridge unless it's supposed to be served that way . Fish was very fresh and presentation was great , also had the soft shell crab , gyoza appetizers very good and tasty . Highly recommend for lunch , dinner and groups

Michelle 29 days ago

Japanese Ceviche

Had the best Japanese Ceviche. Not sure what the sauce is in it but it is amazing! Highly recommend.

Lori about 1 month ago

Crunchy Roll

Matsu rocks every time! I am so glad to be back in So cal so I can come back to the best sushi and service! Everything is amazing!

Vnv about 2 months ago

Anaconda Roll

Nice portion with reasonable price Very refreshing with quality fishes. Eat couple times a week

Kristine 2 months ago

Filet Mignon and Scallops

Matsu offers amazing teppan dinners and their filet mignon and scallops is my favorite. Whether you dine in the restaurant at the teppan tables, or get it "to go" like we did this time (due to COVID-19), the filet and scallops are always prepared perfectly. So good!

Deborah 3 months ago

Matsu Love Boat

Been going here for 20 years +. Never had a bad experience. Because of covid19 we couldn't celebrate our 45 wedding anniversary in resturant, it was great eating at home though. Miss you, hope to see you soon

Bj 3 months ago

I. Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura and Sashimi or Sushi

Even as takeout the shrimp and vegetable tempura is delicious. The tempura held up beautifully without getting soft or soggy, and the shrimp especially held its sweet flavor. Everything we ordered was good, but this dish is a must have for dine in or takeout every time.

Haleighkiona2 3 months ago

Sesame Chicken

So good and flavorful!

Brenda 3 months ago

Assorted Sashimi

A couple dinners, a boat and extras - everything was delicious! We ordered for pick up. Everything was ready at our appointed time, no waiting. They helped me to the car. Our guests loved the food! Thank you.

Guitardealsinfo 4 months ago

Assorted Sashimi

Excellent quality sushi. Love the ambience. The staff is extremely friendly. Bathrooms always clean. We will support you with takeout while your dining room is closed due to Covid -19.

Vallenbutterfly69 4 months ago

Filet Mignon and Scallops

If your celebrating a birthday or anniversary Matsu teppan bar is the place to go! The atmosphere is festive and the food is always fresh and delicious! The chef delights you're table with his cooking skills and hilarious antidotes. Their fried rice is on point and never disappoints. I always order the filet mignon and scallops. It's a generous portion and cooked perfectly! Shrimp is part of the meal so it's fabulous to have scallops too! They're soooo good!

Traciesagara 4 months ago

Vegetable Platter

My entire family has been going to Matsu for over 20 years now. We have had many birthday celebrations at the Teppan tables. The food is always amazing, and the service is always great!! We love Matsu!!!

Luanne 4 months ago

E. Beef Teriyaki and Shirimp and Vegetable Tempura

Yummy deliciousness with every bite! Tender and fresh beef. Fresh 🍣 sushi. Tasty alcoholic drinks!

Kyro74 4 months ago

Matsu Special Boat

Matsu has been my family's go to special dinner since I was about 8 years old. I am 46 now and they have never been anything but excellent. It is a special place that can be so consistent for so long. Always a recommended place!

Cfkori 4 months ago

Rainbow Roll

Love Matsu! Everything is always super fresh and the staff is always amazing. An awesome experience every time!

Pam 3 days ago

Albacore Sashimi

I have been to so many Sushi bars/restaurants all over the country.. and NOTHING compares to Matsu's!.. This is the best sushi I've ever had in taste, quality, and presentation!!.. I've been going here for over 35 years.. it is always the best every time I've been!

Glenda 11 days ago

Caterpillar Roll

Omg the best sushi money can buy!❤️🧡💛Along with the rice and butter sauce! DEFINITELY A MUST HAVE!!!!

Glenda 12 days ago

Matsu Love Boat

No place better for delicious food and a beautiful atmosphere always a treat at great price bring the whole family if you can you won't regret it! My family has been coming for over two decades now! The Rainone's love the Love boat and the sushi is amazing! Can't wait to go back for my grandsons birthday best service also seriously all around Perfect place to feel completely satisfied with everything! Thank you Matsu! Glenda Rainone

Iluvgsus4 16 days ago

Filit Mignon and Shrimp

Wow! This place is phenomenal. We absolutely love it!! We have sat both in the dining room and at the Teppan table. We LOVE the Teppan table because not only is it amazing to watch the chef make the yummy food, but it is also so delicious!! We come here every year on our anniversary and have never had any issues. The service is wonderful. The ambiance is romantic and fun. And you won't be disappointed in the food - it is SO yummy! Literally the best filet I have had!

Heidi 20 days ago

Filit Mignon and Shrimp

This is an outstanding restaurant! Friendly staff more like family and top quality food. Best steak in the United States!! I promise you won't be disappointed with your dining experience. Now I want Tepan Shrimp and Filet and to see my friend Orlando who puts on quite a show!!! Hands down best restaurant in Orange County.

Erikka 23 days ago

New York and Shrimp

I have had so many amazing nights at Matsu! Not only have the staff been like family to me but the food is perfect, EVERY TIME!!! I cannot express enough how much I love Matsu!!! Their drinks are amazing too

Viviannthi about 1 month ago

Nabeyaki Udon

The way this dish is prepared in the ceramic pot makes such a huge difference! The whole dish stays warm all the way until you are done with every bite. Also, the noodles are so doughy and delicious. The broth itself is light and just the right amount of saltiness.

Jamie about 1 month ago

Chicken and Shrimp

I've been coming to this restaurant since I was 6 years old and I will be 45 soon! I noticed some of the same stuff at work here and that says so much about this restaurant. I find every reason to come here and my family chooses to come to this restaurant for every anniversary, birthday and holiday. I highly recommend this restaurant for several reasons from the service to the exceptional quality of the food. I am anxiously awaiting for their dine in service to resume so I can visit the teppan table. It's been a couple months since I've been here and I'm having serious withdrawals! If you have not been to this restaurant I highly encourage you to do so and you I promise you, this will be your favorite restaurant too!

Larry about 2 months ago

Sushi Lunch

Excellent as always

Myemailfortoday 2 months ago

H. Salmon Teriyaki and Sashimi or Sushi

"Sister's weekend" that isn't a weekend at all hahaha. In 2018 while visiting my sisters, we made plans to hit a lot of different restaurants...They had both been to Matsu's numerous times. What a wonderful experience! From being sitted until we left I felt as if I had been there before. Our service, wine and food were fabulous! In 2019 we did a redo! Same experience same wonderful food, wine and service! Now 2020 is very disappointing as we cannot have our "sisters time". But rest assured that next year nothing, except death, will stop us from having this wonderful experience again during our "sister's weekend"!!

Lynda 3 months ago

California Roll Special

I love Mast's California Roll Lunch Special. My girlfriend and I have made it a favorite place, month after month year after year to meet and have lunch. Always fresh, tasty and well made. We have never had a complaint.

Sandy 3 months ago

Cucumber Special Roll

This restaurant....the dining room, sushi bar and the teppan table, are one of our favorites for over 35 years! The food is very high quality....fresh and delicious. The staff are among the best and most capable and (friendly!)....with families, on a date, casually with friends....one of the "stars" in OC. Can't wait to dine in person again! Thank you Yuji for so many great times and wonderful meals!

Hbbenay 3 months ago

Matsu 69

I have never experienced a bad meal here. Have been coming for years. This is my new favorite that I share with a friend. We cannot eat the whole thing. Keep up your great work and looking forward to seeing you all soon! If alone I eat either the Poor Man Roll or the Sabrina - always fantastic

Ericad1733 4 months ago

Anaconda Roll

Bomb!

Rdurazzo 4 months ago

Baked Scallop

Absolutely the best food in HB Amazing service; great bar, teppan, sushi bar— Oishi!

Sam 4 months ago

Salmon (F) (S)

My family loves Matsu! The service is always great, and the food is delicious! We enjoy sitting at the sushi bar and our first go to order is always the fresh salmon sushi with ponzu. The salmon is superb and the housemade ponzu is magical. It's bright and tangy and really accents the fresh salmon so well. Order it and you won't be disappointed! It's sooooo good!

Iamfree316 4 months ago

Cucumber Special Roll

Always fresh and tasty!

Liapgarcia 4 months ago

Chef's Special Boat

We ordered the Chef's special boat for takeout lunch today. It was a beautiful presentation and everything packed perfectly. Food was tasty and the portions were generous! Thank you Matsu!

Thecocodean 4 months ago

Crunchy Roll

Every time family comes from out of town, or we have a birthday, Matsu is our go to stop. THEY HAVE THE BEST CRUNCHY ROLL HANDS DOWN! You can't beat their quality of sushi and price anywhere in California. The atmosphere and service are always great. If you love scallops you have to try the the sauteed scallops appetizer. Or just try anything and you won't be disappointed!

Califam2 4 months ago

Crunchy Roll

I love this place everything fresh staff is wonderful This is my favorite place.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA