Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Matsu Japanese Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Maryjimenez1087 7 days ago

Favorite Combo

Best sushi in Orange County. Udon soup was amazing too. Matsu is so good. I love all their 🍣

Bara 3 months ago

Fried Calamari

Have tried many different restaurants, but Matsu has my favorite calamari. They have a perfect balance between the amount of squid and breading. The serving sauce is also amazing. It has a good kick to it.

Xmelissalee524 3 months ago

Filet Mignon and Scallops

This is by far, one of the best teppanyaki places I've ever been to. The steak was so tender & the scallops were cooked perfectly, not to under & not rubbery. Every single time I've ordered scallops at a teppan place, I have been very wary because they can never get it right. But this place nailed it! The chefs were so entertaining & the waitstaff were all very friendly & attentive. They really made my birthday experience one that I will never forget! I will come here time & time again! I'm just sad I hadn't started coming in sooner!

Andre 3 months ago

Matsu Combination Boat

Love the boat dinners...great variety and there will be enough to take home.

Vanessa 3 months ago

Scallop

Matsu is our favorite restaurant! We love everything about this fabulous establishment. The food, staff, ambiance are all a 10!!!

Jahsurfcity 4 months ago

Chicken and Scallops

Always a wonderful meal and lots of fun. Excellent service. Love dining at Matsu.

Ambyrcaresse 4 months ago

Volcano Roll

I have been coming here for the past three years and the quality has never disappointed me. The Atmosphere is amazing and very welcoming. I have spent three anniversaries here and even had my first date with who is my now husband here. I will always be coming back!

Huntbch 5 months ago

Sushi Lunch

Awesome as usual. This is the best Sushi House in California!

Ljdesertrat29 5 months ago

Vegetable Tempura

All X - L -N -T Enjoy the place - my first choice in the county !!

Jsc3pw 5 months ago

Maku No Uchi (Japanese Style Lunch Box)

Enjoy this lunch box very much. A tasty variety of food!

Cg 5 months ago

Chicken

I really enjoyed this dish, sizzling hot on the plate. Very tasty, and generous portions. I also enjoy the QUIET dining experience and decor.

Gabbyt2011 6 months ago

Sukiyaki

There Sukiyaki is a must have or try It's Delicious! That's what I keep coming back for.

Ynotchong 6 months ago

Chef's Special Boat

All time favorite whether or not you're celebrating an occasion!!

Skttslm 6 months ago

Snake Roll

I've always wanted to try all types of sushi, but wasn't sure about the Eel. Let me just say that it was amazingly good, and resembles any cooked fish for those wary. It has a nice oily taste, and has become my go to. I also love the atmosphere, the booths, and the decorations. When I went today, they had very nice Halloween decorations set up. I love to come here with friends, and I look forward to it every time.

Miahdchung 6 months ago

Matsu Love Boat

The mix of food on these boats are the best. It's a little bit of everything you might be craving and definitely fills you up. More than enough is left for leftovers. Usually it's teriyaki beef or chicken, fried chicken, tempura, steamed veggies, rice and pieces of fruit for dessert. If you don't feel like having a big boat and want something a bit lighter, we like getting the Matsu 69. It's spicy tuna mixed with tempura bits and covered in a dome of avocado (we also get a side of Serrano chilies). We love it. It's definitely big enough for two. Even their little cucumber salad is delicious. Come here if you want an intimate and quiet environment! They also have enough room if you have a bigger party! We love Matsu's!

Joenlynnrutigliano 7 months ago

Filet Mignon and Lobster (Half Tail)

The best Lobster I've evwer had! They have this amazing soup too. The whole entire vive, from the moment you walk it is great. Bar had great drinks and our cook was hilarious, he made everybody laugh! Will be going back and Definitely referring people to go eat here its the bomb!!!

Jenhamilhawes 7 months ago

Albacore Sashimi

The best melt in your mouth sashimi i have ever had. Hands down...The best

Guitardealsinfo 7 months ago

Tuna Roll

The fish is of excellent quality and larger than normal portions. If you eat in the Bar I recommend Amy serving you. If you come back a second or third time she will have remembered your entire order. She's amazing. Very accommodating when making special orders as well.

Lisa 7 months ago

Chicken and Scallops

This dish was so good! Great presentation and delicious!

Jacbrock2000 7 months ago

New York and Scollops

We come here for my entire family's birthday all the time! We've had everything on the menu and it is always exceptional food and exceptional service!

Code03rn 7 days ago

Sushi Lunch

Matsu is the best restaurant in Huntington Beach, or even the county! The staff is friendly and fast. The food is simply the best! We have been going here for decades. When anyone wants to go out to eat, I always recommend Matsu. We are thrilled they are still doing take out during this time of quarantine. The food was it's usual wonderful, and it really did our hearts good. Let's keep supporting them and order for pick up! Stay safe HB! 😷🤗

Dgeenen12 3 months ago

Sesame Chicken

I have been going here for 25 years. Have not missed a year. The sesame chicken is by far my favorite thing on the menu and that is saying A LOT. I love soooo many things on the menu, from the soft shell crab, to the steak, to the sashimi , to the tempura...I can go on and on. I adore this place. From the smallest things to the biggest entrees everything has such amazing flavor and is always cooked right. I have never been disappointed in this restaurant ever. Such an amazing staff. Such amazing food, and like I said the sesame chicken is out of this world. The crispiness, the flavor, the tenderness. 10/10. We have celebrated birthdays, anniversaries, reunions here and every single New Year's Eve. Will always be our go to Japanese restaurant.

Candymeadows28 3 months ago

Anaconda Roll

When my husband and I were first dating after reconnecting since our teenage years, we would go and try all the wonderful rolls at Matsu. It was our favorite place to have a umbrella drink and enjoy conversation whether on the bar or the dining room. Such a classic place to reminisce when we were kids and out parents would bring us there. Who would have thought we would now be married and enjoy those same rolls and now drinks with each other once again. The Anaconda is our favorite to enjoy together. No other restaurant makes anything like it. Can't wait to take our grandkids here one day! Thank you Matsu!

Willnomyou 3 months ago

Filet Mignon and Chicken

Absolutely LOVE the teppan menu items, and me and my family have tried pretty much every combination of them all in the last few years. If there's a special event we are celebrating it's almost always the top of our list. I love how good the filet is just as it is, and I have never had issues with the texture of the chicken which some restaurants deliver to me as rubbery. I always get an additional add on of shrimp too even if a trio isnt on the teppan menu because I just want it all!

Riderforlife95 4 months ago

Filet Mignon and Lobster (Half Tail)

This place is by far the best restaurant in Orange County the steak is always so tender and lobster is delicious my family comes here at least once a month. Been coming here since 1982 and can say we have never been disappointed ! You have to remember to get a scorpion bowl ! They are awesome

Loveylindee 4 months ago

Filet Mignon and Lobster (Half Tail)

This is my family's go to restaurant for any birthday celebration so that means we go at least 5 times a year! Always so worth it. It feels like home and family all rolled up into a great meal, drinks and celebration! I always get this dish, the filet and lobster! It is just amazing and the best of both worlds. Both are cooked to perfection with such finesse! We love you HB Matsu! Please never leave or change a thing!

Rroom61 5 months ago

Salmon Sashimi (F) (S)

I always order salmon sashimi from Matsu! Its sliced thin and always tastes fresh. I also love the Salmon Special roll and the Mai Tai's are always perfect and refreshing. My husband and I love going to Matsu, the atmosphere is really comfortable and relaxing.

Rnicholsca 5 months ago

Assorted Sashimi

Absolutely wonderful time. The ambience of the restaurant's decor, the lighting, and staff make for a very enjoyable dining experience. The food and drinks are one of the best in Surf City! I can easily foretell Matsu will be around for another 40+ years.

Pam 5 months ago

Caterpillar Roll

Our entire family has been going to Matsu for over 25 years. We have had multiple sushi rolls and sashimi. It is our go to restaurant! The highest quality of fish and excellent service. The Levitus family.

Karilynn 5 months ago

Tuna Sashimi

"SOOOO GOOD!" is the perfect way to describe Matsu! Everything on the menu is high quality and absolutely DELICIOUS! Above all the fish is on another level! Get sushi, sashimi, or a fancy roll and they will all blow you away with flavor and a perfect texture! The cherry on top of the food is the service! The most amazing, & friendly staff never fail with their service! When your family has been coming to Matsu for as long as you can remember, they're truly family! Matsu is the perfect place for anything from a date, to a family celebration! Great ambience, amazing staff, & food that is just soooooooo GOOD!

Lly 5 months ago

Baked Halibut Roll

I like the flavor, since it baked, it's kinda oily, but that's the nature of eating fish. I would order it again.

Lori49ers 6 months ago

Beef Teriyaki and Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura

Absolutely the best steak shrimp and tempura! My husband and I frequent Matsu on our anniversaries and also my family birthdays! Love Love the food and service !

Kwalters1515 6 months ago

Tuna Tataki Sashimi

The tuna tataki here changed my life.

Jaustin117 6 months ago

Yellowtail Sashimi

I love love love this spot...we always sit in the bar area, it's phenomenal, romantic, relaxing vibe and great ambiance. The service is always phenomenal as is the food. Had YellowTail, Matsu 69 (my go to for a healthy and amazing dinner option), and tried the Japanese Ceviche for the first time, it was deliciousness. Not one piece of food left on the plate. Love this place, it's an HB must try and should be a a historic / iconic place.

Leslie 6 months ago

Halibut Sashimi

The best halibut sashimi in town!

Vtran19 7 months ago

Mixed Sashimi

Matsu is one of my go-to sushi places in Orange County. I love the atmosphere and the service is always great. The sashimis are fresh and their cooked rolls are some of the best in town.

West 7 months ago

Maku No Uchi (Japanese Style Lunch Box)

Loved this special. The price was amazing the portions were huge and you got a sample of everything.

Michelle 7 months ago

Assorted Sashimi

Great food and service was awesome!

Clay 7 months ago

Shrimp

This was some of the best shrimp I have ever had. I highly recommend trying it if you sit at the Teppan Table for dinner. 10/10

Mr Mijac 7 months ago

Assorted Sashimi

Always the best fresh fish, never been disappointed. The Chef"s are great, always very helpful, as the wife is gluten free.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

February 2020
Coming Soon

January 2020
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA