Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Matsu Japanese Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Ljdesertrat29 14 days ago

Vegetable Tempura

All X - L -N -T Enjoy the place - my first choice in the county !!

Jsc3pw 15 days ago

Maku No Uchi (Japanese Style Lunch Box)

Enjoy this lunch box very much. A tasty variety of food!

Cg 26 days ago

Chicken

I really enjoyed this dish, sizzling hot on the plate. Very tasty, and generous portions. I also enjoy the QUIET dining experience and decor.

Gabbyt2011 29 days ago

Sukiyaki

There Sukiyaki is a must have or try It's Delicious! That's what I keep coming back for.

Ynotchong about 1 month ago

Chef's Special Boat

All time favorite whether or not you're celebrating an occasion!!

Skttslm about 1 month ago

Snake Roll

I've always wanted to try all types of sushi, but wasn't sure about the Eel. Let me just say that it was amazingly good, and resembles any cooked fish for those wary. It has a nice oily taste, and has become my go to. I also love the atmosphere, the booths, and the decorations. When I went today, they had very nice Halloween decorations set up. I love to come here with friends, and I look forward to it every time.

Miahdchung about 2 months ago

Matsu Love Boat

The mix of food on these boats are the best. It's a little bit of everything you might be craving and definitely fills you up. More than enough is left for leftovers. Usually it's teriyaki beef or chicken, fried chicken, tempura, steamed veggies, rice and pieces of fruit for dessert. If you don't feel like having a big boat and want something a bit lighter, we like getting the Matsu 69. It's spicy tuna mixed with tempura bits and covered in a dome of avocado (we also get a side of Serrano chilies). We love it. It's definitely big enough for two. Even their little cucumber salad is delicious. Come here if you want an intimate and quiet environment! They also have enough room if you have a bigger party! We love Matsu's!

Joenlynnrutigliano about 2 months ago

Filet Mignon and Lobster (Half Tail)

The best Lobster I've evwer had! They have this amazing soup too. The whole entire vive, from the moment you walk it is great. Bar had great drinks and our cook was hilarious, he made everybody laugh! Will be going back and Definitely referring people to go eat here its the bomb!!!

Jenhamilhawes 2 months ago

Albacore Sashimi

The best melt in your mouth sashimi i have ever had. Hands down...The best

Guitardealsinfo 2 months ago

Tuna Roll

The fish is of excellent quality and larger than normal portions. If you eat in the Bar I recommend Amy serving you. If you come back a second or third time she will have remembered your entire order. She's amazing. Very accommodating when making special orders as well.

Lisa 2 months ago

Chicken and Scallops

This dish was so good! Great presentation and delicious!

Jacbrock2000 2 months ago

New York and Scollops

We come here for my entire family's birthday all the time! We've had everything on the menu and it is always exceptional food and exceptional service!

Meganecrawford11 3 months ago

Sumo Roll

This roll is amazing! I've been getting it for years and it's delicious every time. Highly recommend!

Pacificpaws 3 months ago

Soft Shell Crab

Delicious! We order every visit mouth watering dipping sauce yum 😋

Hbhanamuras 3 months ago

Chicken

I been a loyal customer at Matsu for the past twenty years. I love the restaurant because of their delicious food, atmosphere, comprehensive menu and impeccable service. I recently have been going there for lunch and experienced the same quality food and service.

Sf77744 3 months ago

Stuffed Halibut

OMG! The best ever! I had dreams about this dish for weeks after eating it; It literally melts in your mouth. Every time I go back it's my go to dinner item. I've also ate dinner at the Teppan Table and its a fun filled fabulous dinning experience! I guarantee you Nothing at Matsu's is bad. If you like FRESH Japanese food and your in the HB area, this is the GO TO SPOT!

Vel0283 3 months ago

Filet Mignon

I've never been disappointed, the steak is always cooked perfectly to my liking. I love this restaurant.

Pam 15 days ago

Caterpillar Roll

Our entire family has been going to Matsu for over 25 years. We have had multiple sushi rolls and sashimi. It is our go to restaurant! The highest quality of fish and excellent service. The Levitus family.

Karilynn 18 days ago

Tuna Sashimi

"SOOOO GOOD!" is the perfect way to describe Matsu! Everything on the menu is high quality and absolutely DELICIOUS! Above all the fish is on another level! Get sushi, sashimi, or a fancy roll and they will all blow you away with flavor and a perfect texture! The cherry on top of the food is the service! The most amazing, & friendly staff never fail with their service! When your family has been coming to Matsu for as long as you can remember, they're truly family! Matsu is the perfect place for anything from a date, to a family celebration! Great ambience, amazing staff, & food that is just soooooooo GOOD!

Lly 26 days ago

Baked Halibut Roll

I like the flavor, since it baked, it's kinda oily, but that's the nature of eating fish. I would order it again.

Lori49ers 30 days ago

Beef Teriyaki and Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura

Absolutely the best steak shrimp and tempura! My husband and I frequent Matsu on our anniversaries and also my family birthdays! Love Love the food and service !

Kwalters1515 about 1 month ago

Tuna Tataki Sashimi

The tuna tataki here changed my life.

Jaustin117 about 1 month ago

Yellowtail Sashimi

I love love love this spot...we always sit in the bar area, it's phenomenal, romantic, relaxing vibe and great ambiance. The service is always phenomenal as is the food. Had YellowTail, Matsu 69 (my go to for a healthy and amazing dinner option), and tried the Japanese Ceviche for the first time, it was deliciousness. Not one piece of food left on the plate. Love this place, it's an HB must try and should be a a historic / iconic place.

Leslie about 2 months ago

Halibut Sashimi

The best halibut sashimi in town!

Vtran19 2 months ago

Mixed Sashimi

Matsu is one of my go-to sushi places in Orange County. I love the atmosphere and the service is always great. The sashimis are fresh and their cooked rolls are some of the best in town.

West 2 months ago

Maku No Uchi (Japanese Style Lunch Box)

Loved this special. The price was amazing the portions were huge and you got a sample of everything.

Michelle 2 months ago

Assorted Sashimi

Great food and service was awesome!

Clay 2 months ago

Shrimp

This was some of the best shrimp I have ever had. I highly recommend trying it if you sit at the Teppan Table for dinner. 10/10

Mr Mijac 3 months ago

Assorted Sashimi

Always the best fresh fish, never been disappointed. The Chef"s are great, always very helpful, as the wife is gluten free.

Kelley12345 3 months ago

Anaconda Roll

My family and I absolutley love Mastu. I have spent my last 7 birhtdays dining here with friends and family to enjpy the great setting and food. The food is beyond amazing, Everything is so fresh and served in such a timely manner. All the employees are the kindest people and very respecful. Our favorite dish is The Ananaconda roll, the taste is so fresh with the cucumber wrap and tuna inside, laid across tempura flakes. You can not go wrong choosing to dine here.

Latravelingman 3 months ago

Albacore

I ate lunch there 4days a week for over 7 years. Great food, large portions, excellent service! I now live in Vegas, but always eat there when I come to LA!

Kbellrn07 3 months ago

Chicken and Shrimp

You can't go wrong. I have been coming here since I was a kid. It's our favorite restaurant in HB. There's just something special about it.

Thegreenhouse 3 months ago

Salmon Teriyaki and Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura

I've been going to Matsu since I was a kid, going with my parents. Now it is my daughters favorite place. The salmon is cooked perfectly and the shrimp and vegetable tempura is crisp and not greasy. My daughter loves the sushi. The service is always fast and courteous. I highly recommended this place to anyone, even if they don't think they like Japanese food.

Cbarrett6 4 months ago

Sesame Chicken

I try this at every restuarant hopin it will be as good as Matsu, none have measured up. Really good cold with ponzu



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA