Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Matsu Japanese Restaurant. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

You are submitting your information to Matsu Japanese Restaurant and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Sandy 7 days ago

Cucumber Special Roll

This restaurant....the dining room, sushi bar and the teppan table, are one of our favorites for over 35 years! The food is very high quality....fresh and delicious. The staff are among the best and most capable and (friendly!)....with families, on a date, casually with friends....one of the "stars" in OC. Can't wait to dine in person again! Thank you Yuji for so many great times and wonderful meals!

Brenda 22 days ago

Assorted Sashimi

A couple dinners, a boat and extras - everything was delicious! We ordered for pick up. Everything was ready at our appointed time, no waiting. They helped me to the car. Our guests loved the food! Thank you.

Guitardealsinfo about 1 month ago

Assorted Sashimi

Excellent quality sushi. Love the ambience. The staff is extremely friendly. Bathrooms always clean. We will support you with takeout while your dining room is closed due to Covid -19.

Vallenbutterfly69 about 1 month ago

Filet Mignon and Scallops

If your celebrating a birthday or anniversary Matsu teppan bar is the place to go! The atmosphere is festive and the food is always fresh and delicious! The chef delights you're table with his cooking skills and hilarious antidotes. Their fried rice is on point and never disappoints. I always order the filet mignon and scallops. It's a generous portion and cooked perfectly! Shrimp is part of the meal so it's fabulous to have scallops too! They're soooo good!

Traciesagara about 1 month ago

Vegetable Platter

My entire family has been going to Matsu for over 20 years now. We have had many birthday celebrations at the Teppan tables. The food is always amazing, and the service is always great!! We love Matsu!!!

Luanne about 1 month ago

E. Beef Teriyaki and Shirimp and Vegetable Tempura

Yummy deliciousness with every bite! Tender and fresh beef. Fresh 🍣 sushi. Tasty alcoholic drinks!

Kyro74 about 1 month ago

Matsu Special Boat

Matsu has been my family's go to special dinner since I was about 8 years old. I am 46 now and they have never been anything but excellent. It is a special place that can be so consistent for so long. Always a recommended place!

Cfkori about 1 month ago

Rainbow Roll

Love Matsu! Everything is always super fresh and the staff is always amazing. An awesome experience every time!

Joanna about 2 months ago

Sweet Shrimp

SO good! Super fresh and delicious!

Del about 2 months ago

Salmon Teriyaki and Sashimi

could never go wrong with this one

Yuyehlin about 2 months ago

Baked Halibut Roll

Very good....

Jennturner69 about 2 months ago

Filet Mignon and Chicken

The best restaurant in Huntington Beach. Been coming to Matsu for over 30 years. No matter if your at the sushi bar or restaurant they never fail! We celebrate ever occasion at Matsu!

Carolyn about 2 months ago

Beef Teriyaki and Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura

It's my all time favorite that I order every time we go, minus the shrimp. I'm allergic. I get extra tempura veggies instead.

Mikecathyalyxty about 2 months ago

C. Sesame Chicken and Shirimp and Vegetable Tempura

I love this place. The staff and food are great. I take a day off work so I can go for lunch😊

Stephanie 2 months ago

Chicken and Scallops

We love their teppanyaki! It keeps the kids entertained, and the food is so good. We come here for all our family celebrations. One of our favorite places to visit.

Jenn 2 months ago

Matsu 69

Honesty my favorite...go to...healthy but I feel like I am splurging...had one Thursday and going back to dine in tonight...best sushi in HB ♡♡♡ love the vibe in the restaurant and lounge...great staff ☆☆☆

Mailinhbui14 2 months ago

Anaconda Roll

The cucumber special is one of my favorite rolls to order at Matsu. Unlike typical sushi cut rolls that are normally rolled in rice, this roll offers a crunch as it is wrapped in cucumber and plated on a bed of tempura flakes. This roll gives you an opportunity to cleanse your palate with the refreshing taste of fresh cucumber, real crab, and amazing fish. I find myself ordering this roll every time and highly recommend it.

Gerald 2 months ago

Matsu Combination Boat

We have dined with you for years, just recently for our anniversary on 5/22/ we order take out, The Combination Boat, excellent as always, can't wait for this pandemic to be over with so we can come and dine in with you again. See you soon.

Jeanne 2 months ago

Beef Teriyaki and Shrimp & Vegetable Tempura

Our favorite Japanese restaurant

Henryjrquintero 2 months ago

Caterpillar Roll

Love that avocado withe the Eel, amazing!

Haleighkiona2 15 days ago

Sesame Chicken

So good and flavorful!

Ericad1733 27 days ago

Anaconda Roll

Bomb!

Rdurazzo about 1 month ago

Baked Scallop

Absolutely the best food in HB Amazing service; great bar, teppan, sushi bar— Oishi!

Sam about 1 month ago

Salmon (F) (S)

My family loves Matsu! The service is always great, and the food is delicious! We enjoy sitting at the sushi bar and our first go to order is always the fresh salmon sushi with ponzu. The salmon is superb and the housemade ponzu is magical. It's bright and tangy and really accents the fresh salmon so well. Order it and you won't be disappointed! It's sooooo good!

Iamfree316 about 1 month ago

Cucumber Special Roll

Always fresh and tasty!

Liapgarcia about 1 month ago

Chef's Special Boat

We ordered the Chef's special boat for takeout lunch today. It was a beautiful presentation and everything packed perfectly. Food was tasty and the portions were generous! Thank you Matsu!

Thecocodean about 1 month ago

Crunchy Roll

Every time family comes from out of town, or we have a birthday, Matsu is our go to stop. THEY HAVE THE BEST CRUNCHY ROLL HANDS DOWN! You can't beat their quality of sushi and price anywhere in California. The atmosphere and service are always great. If you love scallops you have to try the the sauteed scallops appetizer. Or just try anything and you won't be disappointed!

Califam2 about 2 months ago

Crunchy Roll

I love this place everything fresh staff is wonderful This is my favorite place.

Amyf1125 about 2 months ago

Filit Mignon and Shrimp

I've been eating at Matsu for over 30 years and its the best of the best!!! The food is always so delicious and the service is amazing!!!

Del about 2 months ago

Soft Shell Crab

Always enjoyed matsu Food so good and as the server

Jl91762 about 2 months ago

Baked Halibut Roll

So so....... good....

Millian about 2 months ago

Filet Mignon and Chicken

Fabulous!

Transa0710 about 2 months ago

Tuna Boat

One of the best tuna sushi ever. Tasted fresh and delicious.

Chompflindsey about 2 months ago

Crunchy Roll

Hello there!! I have been going to matsus since i literally could remember. My parents have made it a tradition since my 2nd birthday to go there every year, and now i'm 21 STILL going there. if that doesn't tell you something i'm not sure what will. Did i mention they have the best crunch roll ever? We start with sushi and drinks and then get a boat for my whole family. love this place love tradition❤️

Jina 2 months ago

Assorted Sashimi

Their mixed sashimi is great and my go to.

Kaydelin19 2 months ago

Baked Halibut Roll

The best sushi in town! My boyfriend and i had our first date here and eat here for every occasion! Everything that they make is delicious. We love the atmosphere and are excited to be able to dine in again! A local staple for us and i know for many others too!! We love the albacore tartar and you cant forget tropical iced tea!!

Stuartmiller 2 months ago

Sumo Roll

Everything at Matsu is great but the sumo roll is a standout. It's very flavorful and beautifully constructed. Until coronavirus my wife and I went to Matsu every Friday night and the sumo roll is our favorite!

Jeanne 2 months ago

Dynamite Shrimp

Good

Phamtan58 2 months ago

Halibut Sashimi

Thin slide of this sweet delicious white fish over the bowl of crushed ice, serve with ponzu sauce is heavenly melted in your mouth

Aimee 2 months ago

Crunchy Roll

My husband's favorite! He calls it dessert sushi.



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

July 2020:
Coming soon!

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA